Toll Free: (800) 820-1021

Elk Run Church Mini-Museum

In 1999, we embarked on an archaeological quest to discover, and then uncover, the foundation and remains of the 1750s Anglican Church at Elk Run - the first such church in Fauquier County, Virginia.  Tours By Appointment only; call (703) 791-6158.

A total of 129 volunteers provided over 5,803 hours of service between 1999 and 2006.  Conversion of the archaeological site to a Historical Church Park started in November 2006. The construction of a Mini-Museum over an excavated segment of the old Church foundation was completed in August 2010. A Dedication Ceremony for the new Mini-Museum building was held on November 14, 2010, and a short church service was held within the outline of the old Church foundation for the first time in over 200 years.

About 1,631 volunteer hours of service was provided from late 2006 until the end of 2010 to complete the construction of the Museum and related supporting activities. The Museum’s goal is to depict the history of the area (Native Americans and settlers), the Church and its first Minister, Rev. James Keith, grandfather of Chief Justice John Marshall. The Mini-Museum will also cover the seven year archaeological 
effort, and its conversion to a Historic Church Park.

The adjacent Elk Run Church Cemetery had changed owners over the years but on November 20, 2011, William C. Patton, Jacqueline E. Patton and Christina A. Patton graciously donated the property to St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church so that it could become part of the Elk Run Historic Church Park and held in perpetuity.  The acquisition of this approximate 100 ft. by 100 ft. Cemetery property adds to the historical significance of the Elk Run Church Site. 

Contact Information